DUI (Driving Under the Influence) FREE CONSULTATION
Georgia DUI laws are among the toughest, if not the toughest, in the nation. From jail time to license suspensions to expensive fines, the penalties associated with a DUI conviction can be devastating. Over the past 18 years, Troy has helped hundreds of people charged with DUI and other alcohol and drug crimes in municipal, state, superior, and federal courts around Georgia. He recently completed certification of the Field Sobriety Test training course curriculum as conducted by NHTSA.
Am I going to lose my license?
You may, but not necessarily. A sentence for DUI may include license suspension, a fine, community service, or others. It all depends on the facts and circumstances of the case.
What could I be looking at as far as fines, jail time, license suspension, and community service?
The answer depends on many, many factors such as age, criminal history, the court in which the case is pending, the Judge, your lawyer, and the facts and circumstances leading up to your arrest. Unfortunately, no lawyer can gaze into a crystal ball at the beginning of a case and see the outcome of any case weeks or months in the future, just as no health care provider can predict with certainty the outcome of any medical procedure. However, an experienced professional will be in the best position to help you achieve the best possible result.
What happens if I refuse to take the breath test?
You may hear lots of advice on what to do IF you’re pulled over and are under the influence.
Refusing to submit to a state administered chemical test of your blood, breath, urine, or other bodily substance, is one piece of evidence that can be used against the defendant. A refusal, when combined with other evidence such as erratic driving, failure of field sobriety tests, slurred speech, witness testimony, can lead to a conviction for DUI, which appears on one’s criminal history, sometimes referred to as a rap sheet.
Drivers can be, and are, often convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs after chemical test refusals. The best advice is to speak with an attorney in your state PRIOR to appearing in court. The attorney can advise you of possible penalties and defenses.
Will I be able to get a limited driving permit to drive back and forth to work?
Possibly, but it depends on many factors, including age and the number of DUI arrests in the previous 10 years.
How long will the charge stay on my record?
Generally, forever. One exception is a dismissal before prosecution with a subsequent expungement.
What is the 8 1/2” x 11” yellow piece of paper the officer gave me?
It is probably an administrative license suspension that takes effect on the 31st day after the date of arrest UNLESS an appeal and request for hearing is properly filed within 10 business days after the date of arrest.
Why are Georgia’s DUI laws so tough?
To save lives. If you have been arrested and charged with DUI or other crime, please let me try to help. Call me and I’ll be happy to discuss your case with you.
Local Number: (912) 764-7388 Fax: (912) 489-7325 226 South Zetterower Avenue, Statesboro, Georgia 30458